Delta County Memorial Hospital Awarded "A" for Patient Safety

November 29, 2012
Delta, CO, November 29, 2012 - Delta County Memorial Hospital, 49 bed hospital non-profit hospital was honored with an "A" Hospital Safety Score by The Leapfrog Group, an independent national non-profit run by employers and other large purchasers of health benefits for the second year in a row, and the only hospital in the region to receive an "A".

The A score was awarded in the latest update to the Hospital Safety Score. The A, B, C, D, or F scores assigned to U.S. hospitals is based upon preventable medical errors, injuries, accidents and infections. The Hospital Safety Score was completed under the guidance of the nation's leading experts on patient safety and is designed to give the public information they can use to protect themselves and their families.

"Delta County Memorial Hospital is very proud of being awarded an "A" from The Leapfrog Group for two years running. The safety score demonstrates our level of commitment and service to our patients and Delta County families," stated CEO Jason Clecker.

(To editors/reporters) In comparison other Western Slope hospitals rated by The Leapfrog Group were: (see attached list, or may be looked up on the website

To see Delta County Memorial Hospital's scores as they compare locally and nationally, visit the Hospital Safety Score website at, which also provides information on how the public can protect themselves and loved ones during a hospital stay. People can also check their local hospital's score on the free mobile app, available at the same website.

Calculated under the guidance of The Leapfrog Group's nine-member Blue Ribbon Expert Panel, the Hospital Safety Score uses 26 measures of publicly available hospital safety data to produce a single score representing a hospital's overall capacity to keep patients safe from infections, injuries and medical and medication errors. The panel includes: John Birkmeyer (University of Michigan), Ashish Jha (Harvard University), Lucian Leape (Harvard University), Arnold Millstein (Stanford University), Peter Pronovost (John Hopkins University), Patrick Romano (university of California Davis), Sara Singer (Harvard University), Tim Vogus (Vanderbilt University) and Robert Wachter (University of California, San Francisco).